The water polo qualification phase to secure a berth in the 18th FINA World Championships 2019 in Gwangju, Korea, is now completed as 32 teams (16 men, 16 women) will take part in the men and women’ tournaments.

The teams for the men’s tournament were seeded as follows:

LINE 1: Serbia, Croatia, Hungary, Montenegro
LINE 2: Australia, Spain, Italy, Greece
LINE 3: Kazakhstan, USA, Germany, Japan
LINE 4: South Africa, New Zealand, Brazil, Korea

Women’s Tournament

LINE 1: USA, the Netherlands, Russia, Australia
LINE 2: Spain, Hungary, Greece, Italy
LINE 3: Canada, China, Kazakhstan, New Zealand
LINE 4: Cuba, Korea, Japan, South Africa

The variety of the squad qualified to the World Championships, with teams from the five continents, represents the universality of the sport which is popular all around the world within both genders.

The tournaments will be held from July 14-27 on alternate days for the men and women’s tournament.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here